Site Overlay

2021/22 Season

In the Early Music in Schwabing concert series, the Svapinga Consort regularly presents new programs featuring four hundred years worth of music. The 2021/22 season extends from dramatic compositions from the time of the English Restoration through to German Romanticism. Audiences will be treated to many accomplished guest musicians including internationally-renowned soprano Fanie Antonelou and the vocal ensemble InVocare. Let yourself be carried away by wonderful performances and (re)discover beloved masterpieces as well as less familiar musical gems in an exciting and groundbreaking season!

Saturday, 16 July 2022

7:00 pm • Kleiner Goldener Saal, Augsburg

Sunday, 17 July 2022

11:15 am • Albert-Lempp-Saal, Kreuzkirche München


English Opera and Stage Music by Purcell, Blow, and Locke

Matthew LOCKE (1621-1677): Excerpts from Psyche (1675)
John BLOW (1649-1708): First Act from Venus and Adonis (1683)
Henry PURCELL (1659-1695): Final Act from Dido and Aeneas (1695)


This concert was made possible by:

Charlotte Nachtsheim Soprano
Mirjam Striegel Soprano
Stefan Steinemann Alto
Christopher Wattam Tenor
Valerio Zanolli Baritone

Svapinga Consort on period instruments

Tickets: 25 € (Association Members 18 € / Students 15 €). Available for purchase at the ticket desk 45 minutes before the concert.

In this last season concert, the Svapinga Consort will join forces with the singers of InVocare to explore works created for the Restoration Theater by two of England’s greatest early theater music composers: Matthew Locke (1621-1677), John Blow (1649-1708), and their successor Henry Purcell (1659-1695). In their music for the stage, Locke, Blow, and Purcell’s audacious harmonies and distinctly English approach to counterpoint and drama gave Restoration-era adaptations of works by Shakespeare, Shadwell, Molière, and others what contemporary English diarist Samuel Pepys described as “a strange perfection” through the marriage of comedy, tragedy, music, and dance.

A special emphasis of the project will include work on the original pronunciation of English, a special interest of the InVocare ensemble. This focus on pronunciation will be integrated into the vocal performances as well into declamation of certain texts drawn from the librettos of the different works.


back to top


Sunday, 7 November 2021

11:15 am • Albert-Lempp-Saal, Kreuzkirche München


Kammermusik von Mozart für Oboe, Streicher und Klavier

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART (1756-1791):

Quartet in F Major for Oboe, Violin, Viola and Violoncello KV 370
Quartet in G Minor for Fortepiano, Violin, Viola and Violoncello KV 478
“Adagio” C Major for English Horn, Violin, Viola and Violoncello KV 580a
Grand Quintetto KV 361, Arrangement for Oboe, Violin, Viola, Violoncello and Fortepiano by Christian Friedrich Gottlieb SCHWENCKE of the Serenade in B-flat Major (“Gran Partita”)


Maria Raffaele oboe
Florian Dantel violin
Waleska Sieczkowska viola
Anderson Fiorelli cello
Sofya Gandilyan piano

Thrilled to inaugurate our first full concert season since 2019/2020, our opening season concert celebrates the chamber music of Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART (1756-1791). The works featured in “Pathos and Joy” put on full display the incredible talents of this classical genius, an adept of expressing human emotion in all of its richness and complexity. On the program, masterpieces for oboe, strings, and fortepiano: his effervescent Oboe Quartet in F Major, K. 370, his impassioned Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, K. 478, his elegant “Adagio” for English Horn and Strings, K. 580a, and selections from Christian Friedrich Gottlieb SCHWENCKE’s ingenious quintet arrangement of his irrepressible ‘Gran Partita’, the Serenade in B-flat Major, K. 361 for winds and contrabass.


back to top

Sunday, 16 January 2022

6:00 pm • Albert-Lempp-Saal, Kreuzkirche München


Opera and Instrumental Music by Keiser, Telemann, and Handel

Reinhard KEISER (1674-1739): Arias and Overtures from his operas
Georg Philipp TELEMANN (1681-1767): Recorder Concerto in C Major TWV 51:C1
Georg Friedrich HANDEL (1685-1759): Arias and Overtures from Almira (1705) HWV 1

Not available to come in person to our live concert? Then watch the livestream! More information available HERE.

This concert was made possible by:


Fanie Antonelou Soprano
Anne-Suse Enßle Recorder
Yves Ytier First Violin, Concertmaster

Tickets available for pre-purchase at or at the ticket table on the concert evening.

In January we ring in the New Year with a festive panache of opera and instrumental music by three great composers with strong ties to Hamburg’s famed Oper am Gänsemarkt: Reinhard Keiser, Georg Philipp Telemann and Georg Friedrich Händel. At the turn of the 18th century, this celebrated Hamburg opera house had become the center of early German opera, where Keiser and his contemporaries pioneered a unique kind of musical drama that fused Italian, French, and native German musical traditions. Our singer, the talented soprano Fanie Antelou, will give us a real treat, performing selections from a few of Keiser’s operas as well as from Händel’s Almira, his very first opera written and premiered in Hamburg when he was just 19 years old. The virtuosic recorder player and Svapinga Consort regular Anne-Suse Enßle will also join us to perform Telemann’s Recorder Concerto in C Major.


back to top

Friday, 15 April 2022

3:00 pm • Albert-Lempp-Saal, Kreuzkirche München


Brahms’s German Requiem in his arrangement for four-handed piano

Tickets: 25€/15€, advance booking at or purchase at the ticket table before the concert.

Free entry for Ukrainian refugees (identity card required). Please reserve, providing names and number of attendees, by 12 April via

Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897): Ein deutsches Requiem, op. 45 (1865-68), Arrangement for four-handed piano


Christine Schornsheim Hammerklavier
Sofya Gandilyan Hammerklavier

Free admission, donations welcome!

This concert was made possible by:

On Good Friday we will perform Johannes BRAHMS’s German Requiem as part of our third season concert. In this work, for which the composer selected texts from the Luther Bible and the Psalms himself, grief and pain eventually give way to comfort and hope. Its premiere took place in 1868, and as with our own concert, on Good Friday. In 1869 a four-handed version of the Requiems was published, which was prepared by Brahms himself for music-making at home. The soloists and choir parts are performed on the piano in this arrangement.
This performance will feature two proven specialists in harpsichord and historical pianos: Sofya Gandilyan, artistic director of the Svapinga Consort, and Professor Christine Schornsheim.
A particular highlight: You will have the opportunity to hear an original Blüthner piano dating to Brahms’s time, which will be specially transported to Munich from the Black Forest for this concert.


back to top

Copyright © 2022 . All Rights Reserved. | Catch Vogue by Catch Themes